not at work

Sun Jan 3
Wed Jun 24
Ridiculous.

Ridiculous.

Wed Jun 10
Doesn’t riding camels look fun?

Doesn’t riding camels look fun?

Doesn’t being an adult look like fun?

Doesn’t being an adult look like fun?

Mon Jun 1
Tue Mar 31
Wed Mar 4
Mon Mar 2
Speaking of depressing…

Speaking of depressing…

Mon Feb 2
Wed Jan 14

Gay Math

The sentiments in this Dan Savage post are unfortunate, but there isn’t much in here that can’t be explained with gay math. To wit: 

Let’s take the hypothetical dating pool for a bisexual woman who is, for the sake of argument, a perfect 3 on the Kinsey scale. She has a universe of 100 potential dating partners, 50 men and 50 women. Let’s also say, for math’s sake, that roughly 5% of the population is gay. So, somewhere around 47 of the men might hypothetically be interested in her, as well as 3 or 4 of the women (including other bisexual men and women). So, 90% of her dating pool is male. So, no deep seated issues are needed to explain why most bisexuals end up with opposite sex partners.  

From the perspective of gay people though, the math is pretty different. A given lesbian, out of the pool of 100 partners has only the 3 other lesbians, plus one-ish bisexual women to match up with. So, fully one quarter of her potential dating pool is bisexual, and everyone in that quarter has a 90% chance of ending up with a man. 

Hence, the tension. 

Tue Jan 6
Just when you think things are staying the same, they change. 

Just when you think things are staying the same, they change.